Death Doesn’t Feel So Bad

I’m guessing that being dead feels like nothing. And my thoughts on this aren’t necessarily educated. They really only stem from the fact that I fainted once. And it felt like nothing. The unconscious part of that experience I meant.

So I imagine that when we die, and we lose our consciousness, it’s similar to how you feel when you have fainted. Or when you’re sleeping and have no dreams. You feel nothing.

So when Philosophers like Seneca and Epictetus tell us not to fear death, I get it. I get it because you can only fear death when you’re awake, and when you’re awake, you’re not dead, so you’re worrying for no reason. And when you’re dead, you’re too busy feeling nothing to fear anything.

I think of how I’m feeling right now. And death doesn’t feel so bad.

Leave a Reply

