One Foot In.

Sometimes I think that, at the end of the day, the stability of a relationship depends on the number of assumptions you’re willing to make about your partner’s feelings: you’re significant to them, they won’t judge negatively or too harshly, they care, they’ll care tomorrow, they want to be in your life, you can trust them with the key to your house.

Or your thoughts.

I’ve been trained to question assumptions–learned not to hold them too tightly, to examine their fragility and necessity in the support of a conclusion while knowing how harmful they can be to truth and how helpful they can be for persuasion.

It feels presumptuous to assume. And I don’t know how to feel comfortable having someone in my life. And I love the people in my life. I love like a frightened rabbit. Like a reader nearing the end of a book. And I don’tknow how to love with the assumption of  a future.

Leave a Reply

